Wednesday, October 24, 2007

Megan's learning at Julia Gabriel's

Megan has just started her Billingual Playgroup class at Julia Gabriel's Learning Centre (JBLC) at Forum Shopping Mall. 21st October was her first of the 5 lessons left.

For a start, there was a vacancy for the sunday afternoon class. I had wanted to put her in a morning class so that she will not feel too tired in the afternoon but JBLC is so popular we had to be put on a waiting list. Hence, I decided to sign her up immediately despite the hours just to get a place.

The 2 hour lesson was interesting. The teachers used music and drama in both english and chinese languages (1 hour each) to teach and there was art and craft lessons as well as snack time and play time. It was a condensed kind of nursery programme. The price is steep but as according to my colleague, it is an average pricing for private learning centres. Whatever the case is, I could see that Megan enjoyed herself very much. As compared to 5 days a week, 2 hours a day nursery classes, this may well be the best arrangement for her. Now she looks forward to her next lesson there. And of course, I am determined to be there with her for every lesson...as of her 45 minutes music class with ocean butterflies on saturdays. Hopefully these exposures will prepare her for the kindergarten classes to come.

JBLC is registered with MOE and has courses for early childhood courses for adults. I find them professional and organized for a start. Will continue to survey on their programmes though. Was thinking of putting Megan through to their kindergarten too. But we still have some years to go.

As for now, Megan shall continue to spend quality time on weekends at lessons and running at parks. Really can't wait for Kaden to be up and about too!

Driving Skills

Was out and about in the past week, driving around in dad's little red jazz. Honestly, having a car is really convenient, not to mention that petrol prices have soared high and above.

Morning traffic and evening traffic conditions are the worst. I really honestly do not like to drive at these times because it can really drive me mad. Just a few days ago, a female driver in a red mazada 3 was zooming on the road taking left and right as though there were no cars around. Hubby was driving and I was shocked when this red "AH LIAN" car zoomed in between ours and a bus in front. Luckily we were moving at a slow speed as we were approaching the traffic junction but she simply squeezed herself into that small space in between. Hubby honked her and when we moved off after, she took on another lane and stared hard at us! I mean, what is the world coming to? If I were driving, I would definitely give her a long long honk till all vehicles stop to look at her and her daring act. Talk about road accidents..but its just a thought. Hee..

I can't remember how many times I have honked at drivers who did not signal and immediately overtake, drivers who changed lanes faster than they swallow their saliva, drivers who cannot stay in their lanes but have to drive on the road with the white divider line right under their cars.

Anyway, was discussing with xf on the different ways drivers use and talk about their car horns. There are quite a few versions: " honk", "por", "beh", "bi", "horn". It can get quite comical when you hear drivers describing one of their most unusual incidents with the usage of such animations. It's really hilarious.

Was just reading in the papers on the issue of blowing the whistle on sex offenders. Section 509, a neutral law on both sexes states that a person who insults the modesty of a woman using any word or gesture could be jailed up to a year or fined. It got me to think that I should memorise this statement in case I were to meet a road bully on the road on day, I can use this to protect myself and clam him/her up.

Haa..just a big silly morning thought.

Tuesday, October 2, 2007

Potty Training

Time flies...

Kaden is 6 months old and Megan is old enough to be trained on potty.

Just recently, mum and I decided that it is no longer too early for Meg to be trained to use the potty. So we tried to let her go "diaper-less". Initially Meg found the idea fresh and interesting and was soon running around the house without her diapers. However, when she first found her urine dripping out from her shorts, she got a shock! This became an understatement when her poo starts rolling out onto the floor...ermm..okay..no more further details.

Anyway, Meg got a shock of her life as she stood there watching the poo on the floor and was on the verge of crying as she did not know whether she should move an inch. Luckily mum went to her rescue and assured her that she has done nothing wrong but that she needs to tell an adult when she needs the toilet.

The reward would be: 1 sticker for alerting that she wants to pee and 2 stickers for alerting that she wants to poo. But of course, if there are no results, there will be no rewards. Trust mum to be so creative. Haa..

Since this is only the second day, everyone in the house is still waiting for more good news to come. Megan has been trying hard and being very cooperative. I guess she is doing it out of love for Mum. Not so much that she feels sorry for mum having to clean up after her mess but for the fact that she will get to see mum's smile when she does use the potty.

Keep it going Megan, mummy's all the way behind you!